A Quick Note

It’s been a strange week around here. We’ve had more rain (a lot more) than sunshine and some worries about severe weather – though around here it consisted mostly of crashing thunder, lightning, heavy rains, flash flooding, and a little hail and strong winds. In spite of all this, or perhaps because of it, the garden is flourishing. Now that the rain is over for a couple of days, I need to get out into the garden and weed.

Wednesday evening, my son came over, told me he’d found a newer (and faster – woohoo!) computer for me and took the old one home with him so he could transfer and update files, programs, etc. He brought the new one over last night and let me get acquainted with it under his watchful eye.

None of my bookmarks transferred, including the blog. So I’ve spent the morning hunting down the most important ones and trying to catch up on what’s been going on in the world outside of television network news.

As a result, this blog post will be short and (I hope) sweet, so I can get out of here and go play with my new computer some more.

Tomorrow will be weeding day; Monday I’ll try to finish cutting back the growth I began whacking away at last Wednesday and, hopefully, I can get the growing pile of brush hauled away on Tuesday – before the next round of (possibly) severe weather starts that evening.

But, I’ll be back next Saturday, on my new computer, (yeesssss!) with a new post about whatever I find interesting, funny, aggravating or all of the above over the coming week.

So, be careful out there and I’ll see you, then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Quick Note

  1. graveday says:

    Well, I was just reading a post that Redreamer put up from Gail’s Wit’s End site about her attending a conference of prominent doomers and was wondering about you. So thanks for the explanation and the good news.
    Maybe now you can watch those videos we post, heh, but you’re probably better off not.

  2. theozarker says:

    Hey grave, how are you doing? I’ll check out Gail’s site (on my NEWer computer :D). Everything seems to load so much faster, but I haven’t tried any videos yet. My son’s coming over this evening to do some more things to the computer. I need to download some programs that didn’t get moved over or updated too. But I’m having fun getting around the internet at breakneck speeds (at least to me -heh.) Turned out pretty nice this afternoon, but I decided to leave the weeding until tomorrow morning when it’s cooler. (As good an excuse as any.)

  3. Look up “North Atlantic puffin starvation” if you need a topic of ire

  4. graveday says:

    No real lack of topics, and hard to rank them sometimes, but, that is a sad situation for those birds. I first saw them on the Aleutian Chain and I hope those North Pacific birds are still ok. They look a lot like their nickname, sea parrot.

  5. theozarker says:

    One article I read called them the ocean’s canary in the coal mine. Guess we’re too stupid to realize we’re all in that coal mine together. I often wonder what life will survive and thrive after greed and inattention has facilitated our own departure from the scene.

Leave a Reply

