This World IS My Home

January 18, 2014  wildfire

I have no real blog post today. I am too tired and frustrated with the endless warnings that business as usual can’t continue and the constant propaganda that it can/will/must.
A few weeks ago, I put up a picture on my Facebook page of Rex Tillerson, CEO of ExxonMobil, with a quote from him that said, “What’s the point of saving the planet if humanity suffers?”

Most people, reading that quote, would say, “Duh! What a stupid question. Does he think destroying the planet is going to make humanity suffer less?” Yet we act, as a species, as if the quote makes perfect sense. It doesn’t.

Business as Usual has caught up with us. We’ve dug up, cut down, poisoned and plundered the best of what the earth offered us for a continuing series of what amounts to plastic pumpkins and plasticized lives and, right now, I just can’t do another blog piece about it.

Natures is fighting back and if Rex Tillerson – and anyone else – thinks saving the earth will cause human suffering, wait until he sees what our continued destruction of the earth will bring.

That’s about all I have to say this week, so I’ll close with a few more links, ever hopeful that someone will read them and say, “Wow, I have to change what I’m doing NOW” I’ll see you next week:

http://www.climatecentral.org/news/2013-climate-by-the-numbers-16899
http://www.dw.de/antarctic-glaciers-retreat-unstoppable/a-17363380?utm_content=bufferd356e&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
http://www.wunderground.com/blog/JeffMasters/comment.html?entrynum=2612&utm_content=buffer2fd6b&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/14/science/earth/grappling-with-sea-level-rise-sooner-not-later.html?partner=rss&emc=rss&smid=tw-nytimes&_r=2
http://www.climatecentral.org/news/california-drought-expands-fueling-heat-and-fire-16967?utm_content=bufferd770f&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to This World IS My Home

  1. Catherine Smith says:

    Sister I hear you. The weariness of waiting for the other shoe to drop, or for the world and it’s people to wake up sure takes a toll. Your blog often speaks to me in a way that soothes some of the distress of our times. For my pleasure and to keep balanced I’m learning to play a musical instrument for the first time at 63. My wish for you is some soothing and some pleasure during these dark days.

    • theozarker says:

      Thanks, Catherine. I think gardening does that for me. This is the first year (of five) that my indoor garden has actually produced something beside lettuce and spinach – woohoo. I had some green beans, cabbage and the lettuce and spinach before the green beans died. So I planted some more beans and more lettuce and spinach, which are now coming up. The challenge is very soothing. 😀 It’s just been one of those weeks where everything you read contradicts everything else you read, until you want to bang your head against the wall – LOL.
      Good luck with your music. What are you learning to play?

    • Nadia says:

      Great idea! I used to play piano and miss it badly…. I think I’ll do this!

  2. graveday says:

    It’s interesting to note that California has had the same governor for the two major times it turned brown, those being now and back in the late seventies. Of course, his name is Brown. He just declared a drought emergency. Now I want to see if all the golf courses still get watered. If they are, then I’ll join you in your funk. If they aren’t, it will be one tiny victory. I’ll still join you in your funk though.

    • theozarker says:

      Hey Grave, I’d forgotten that about Brown’s previous term (although as a young single mother I was kinda busy trying to survive the recession(s) back then. 😀 )
      Yeah, it just fries my brain to have them declare a drought, then make sure all the golf courses, etc. get watered. (Or that the fracking wells get their supply while people and animals do without or have to pay to have it shipped in from somewhere else.)
      I’m working on changing over from refrigerator to camp cooler right now, (harder than one might think – LOL) so the funk is dissipating.
      I’m grateful for those “tiny victories”, but in the face of perpetual growth, they seem rather insignificant, at times, don’t they? Well, cheer up. As they say, “You only die once.”

  3. Silvia TIC says:

    Hi Linda,
    I’m with you. I get your pain as it lives with me 24/7 since I “knew” about two years ago…I try to involve myself in positive things and helping others, even if deep inside I sometimes think this is all useless. One of the initiators of Permaculture has shared his view recently, it is summarized in this blog: http://integralpermaculture.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/crash-on-demand-david-holmgren-updates-his-future-scenarios/ and the original be downloaded here: http://holmgren.com.au/crash-demand/. I also posted a similar post last December: http://silviadiblasio.wordpress.com/2013/12/20/climate-change-is-a-crime-the-art-of-fooling-ourselves/
    Holmgren’s advice may help, if enough of us really implement it. I’m working on it.
    Take care

    • theozarker says:

      Hi Silvia, I read Holmgren’s article and have been following the back and forth in the community over it. Honestly, I think he’s right. I don’t see the big players getting out of the perpetual growth meme voluntarily and I don’t see what most of us are able to do as having much effect unless they do. So, as much as it will cause suffering, I really do think our only hope for our little world is an economic crash that will make it impossible to get the expensive stuff out of the ground. How much suffering it will cause depends on how much we take seriously our belief that we are our brothers’ keepers. At least, that’s my take on things.
      I liked your blog post. You take care, too. Good to hear from you.

  4. Nadia says:

    Someone recommended that I look into Chris Martenson and his “Crash Course” information.
    I did and, and in the process, I was filled with memories from my Econ classes in college. It’s a lot to explain – however the main ideas revolve around our current failed approaches to our “down” economic state both here and globally and the horrifying results of our QE processes and bubbles and the ridiculous global living strategy that requires endless consumption and resource depletion in a finite world with increasingly scarce levels of ALL resources that will need to accommodate a exponentially growing world population increasingly wanting the same stuff.

    I viewed the entire course on You Tube and it supported and explained all the anxiety and ill feelings I’ve had for the last four years as well as it helped me feel strong in my life long POV about debt and personal resilience first taught to my by my father who came from Europe and lived/saw horrifying aftermath in Berlin after WW2 and lived through much scarcity in his life. He always said to “be happy, but not TOO happy”. Live small. I lost him two years ago and miss him so much. He said that horses and mules should be treated with kindness because they would soon be part of our transportation system again. As a teenager I , well, acted like a teenager does and scowled.
    Not so much now.

    Anyway, back to Crash Course, Just a suggestion that supports so much of your own views, expressed with such heart and eloquence, Linda. As always, I feel so much better when I can read and share these thoughts I have with others, like you, who have a common mind on both stuff and other matters..

    Continue to take care of yourself. I chuckled at your experience at the warehouse market…..

    Nadia

    • theozarker says:

      Hi, Nadia. I like Martinson’s economic posts. When I wrote my “Doom and the Working Poor” series, I recommended people start by reading his pdf on preparing, http://www.postcarbon.org/Reader/PCReader-Martenson-Preparation.pdf, as a way to organize their thinking and actions as they prepped. The working poor can’t really afford a “scatter gun” approach (actually, none of us can) and I found the way he organized his thinking very helpful.
      LOL, my trip to Sam’s Club was quite an eye-opener. I like your idea about restarting to play the piano. I listen to a lot of classical music as I go about my day. It soothes “the savage beast” in me. 😀 I think music is one of our more powerful “magics” as human beings.

      • Nadia says:

        Martenson’s material is very helpful isn’t it….. I found another article from him titled, “Life is What We Make of it”…. an uplifting message that may help all of us. I made a first trip to Costco in the early 90’s and was blown away by the size of the shopping carts!! Today, I buy limited items in bulk and get in and out of there quickly. As an aside, Costco has been voted one of the best employers and I have a friend who works there – earns a very good wage for retail and the benefits are what benefits used to be way back. He is very happy and says most of his co-workers are too. Hard to say about Walmart (where I also shop locally), and Sam’s Club.

        Last year, we found a CSA and signed up…. and we are also digging and moving all of the old manure (now great soil) out of our barn floor and hope to start a very small garden this spring. I’m not new to gardening but my first attempt(s) in the early to mid 80s were exhausting and hilariously inefficient. I read somewhere that – everyone has to “put in about 10 years to learn” – I love your posts and information related to gardening and will be trying many of your methods when we start this venture! Thanks for your response.

        As for the piano – I loved playing and never had to be encouraged to practice – played for about 5 years – but became more interested in “playing my own thing” and lost the practice of reading music – I am going to look into starting lessons and thank Catherine for the suggestion…. I have to work hard to keep dark thoughts at bay…….

        There is a variable blue sky peeking out here today and that helps!

      • theozarker says:

        LOL, don’t follow my advice on gardening; I’m still learning too. 😀 I did play viola for two years in junior high, but high school didn’t have loan instruments. Did give me a love for orchestral and choral music, though.
        I’m working to build the soil up this winter. With the hinky weather cycles, now, I hope it will give the plants a better start.
        It’s quite lovely here, today. Sunny skies and 50 degrees already. Tomorrow back to 27 for a high. Sigh. Need to get some more food and paper scraps out to the garden while it’s warm.

Leave a Reply

