I Need a Vacation

May 17, 2014   281039

Since today and tomorrow will be sunny and warmer (sunny mid to high sixties compared to rainy mid forties and fifties,) followed by seventies and eighties for all of next week, I am taking a vacation from the blog to get the gardens ready, planted and off to the best start I can.  After a week of cold, rain and darkness that feels like a bunch of bricks on my brain, I  need one.

Because all my transplants are screaming, “Plant me; plant me now, before I die,” that is what I will do early next week. The extra transplants, that won’t fit in my backyard garden, will go into a little side garden. If everything grows and produces, I should have enough to eat this summer, to tuck away for next winter and to share with neighbors who have to work for a living instead of gardening.

I think, with the droughts in California, and parts of the Midwest still behind in rainfall for the year, food is going to be increasingly expensive this summer and fall. Not very good news for those who don’t have a garden.

I plan to post again on May 31. Until then, keep an eye on the meetings in China on May 20-21, especially those between Russia and China. And, of course, the elections in the Ukraine on May 25, where we and the EU have promised new and much harder sanctions on Russia, if they interfere (which I suspect we will make happen, just so we can impose those sanctions).

In the meantime, give yourself a vacation; get out and enjoy some gardening of your own.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Need a Vacation

  1. graveday says:

    Enjoy your outside time and getting things growing.

  2. Nadia says:

    I enjoyed eating my first beets ever today. Amazing.
    I’m going to be trying gardening on a very small scale this year. I wish you good results too!
    Take care and enjoy these fruits of your pleasure and labor!

    • theozarker says:

      Hi Nadia, my beets haven’t shown up, but I have lettuce, spinach and asparagus, so far. good salads. Peas are blooming, but no pods yet. Enjoy your beets and the rest of your garden, too.

Leave a Reply

