Early Morning Thoughts

August 9, 2014  U.S. Geological Survey - Public domain image

This morning, I did something I rarely do on blog post day. After reading some of the morning news, I went out into the garden. While it was still in shade from the walnut tree, while the grass and straw were still wet from the showers we had this week, while it was still cool and damp and “newer” than the garden I’d walked in yesterday morning, I made the conscious decision not to break down and cry over the increasing insanity of the wider world in which the garden and I both exist.

Then, I picked the handful of ripe cherry tomatoes and checked the status of the larger Arkansas Travelers and Rutgers. Despite the similarity to that watched pot that never boils, they are slowly ripening. And I found two, perhaps three, tiny new squash budding out from previously unnoticed squash blossoms. I noted that the potato plants are beginning, one stem at a time, to wilt and turn brown, that the pepper plant and the okra plant have not yet given up on themselves and wondered how long I would have to get the little barrier (the parts of which I now have ready to staple together) put up around the broccoli and cabbage I just planted.

As the sun rose above the walnut tree and the shade crept back toward its roots, I decided I’d better go back to my desk and get busy pulling together the disparate parts of today’s post and checking out the rest of the news.

That news, of course, is pretty uniformly bad news – at least for most of us mere mortals here and around the world, though I’m sure the elite think they have everything under control.

Russia still refuses to bow the knee to its Imperial betters and their vassal states in the EU (would you prefer the term, “client” states?) despite being battered with both increased propaganda and sanctions over the MAL 17 incident – for which we have supplied not one shred of real evidence that the Russians had anything to do with it. Now, Russia is apparently ready to begin some sanctions of its own. I assume their Imperial betters and said vassal states will not take this well and the race to bigger and better measures will begin.

Israel and Hamas have declined to take advantage of extending the cease fire and trying to work something out that would actually benefit both sides and have returned to their lopsided war. Although Israel may fool itself that it is otherwise, it is, in fact, one of the vassal states of this declining Empire, too. Not a promising long-term position to be in, I fear.

The Ebola outbreak has spread to another African country and, if news reports are correct, to Saudi Arabia, now reporting one case of its own. And the Empire, in its infinite wisdom (or perhaps, its infinite hubris) has brought two of its American victims, working among the Ebola patients in Africa, home to its humanitarian bosom. The CDC assures us they can handle it. No problem. Of course, this is the same CDC that left vials of small pox forgotten in a closet for fifty years. And there are those “humanitarian” cases – the military and the big pharmaceutical companies – who could both make a killing (literally, in the case of the military) off of weaponized Ebola or vaccines from blood samples undoubtedly drawn from the two cases before they received the experimental serum treatments.

And along with the 800 military “advisors” we’ve sent to gather intel and protect our embassies in Iraq, we are back to running bombing raids there  – for humanitarian purposes only. Absolutely no combat troops, EVER, we’re assured, (while the neo-cons in Congress clamor for more “robust” action). Haven’t we seen this movie before?

I do wish I could trust the Imperial government, its military, it “free market” corporations, its military-industrial complex, its concern for all its “client” states. But. I. Do. Not.

In my 70+ years, I’ve heard it all before – the propaganda, the obfuscations, the lies. The realities underlying them do not end well. Our economy is like the sputtering old car engine that will surely turn over and take off with the next turn of the ignition key. Our muscle-bound military hasn’t had a clear-cut win in nearly seven decades. Big oil is in debt up to its eyeballs; big corporations, dependent on buy-outs and buy-ups, are fleeing the declining Empire like rats fleeing a sinking ship. Our infrastructure is in disrepair and many of our cities are simply treading water until they drown in their own debt.

We have stripped the earth of its resources, polluted our air and water, altered our weather patterns and the overall climate of the globe in our lust for global hegemony – political, financial and military.

As maintaining it becomes ever more expensive, the declining Empire is in retreat. The world knows it; our vassal states know it (even if they dare not admit it.) We would know it, too, if we listened past the obfuscations and asked the difficult questions that are outside our comfort zones.

I spend a lot of time working in the garden, finding ways to cut back on energy, learning new ways to make do. Whether any of this will help me survive the coming realities, I don’t know. All I do know is that, in those early morning hours, before the sun fully rises and the shade retreats, it beats the heck out of breaking down and crying.

This entry was posted in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Early Morning Thoughts

  1. Nina Parker says:

    Dear Conflicted Doomer, It’s hard to face the reality of the gathering shitstorm and not blame the species responsible, us. The message that the biological determinists who populate the doomosphere keep hammering home at every opportunity–that humans are vile, greedy, brutal and born to overshoot–is hard to resist, especially when it’s served up with juicy irony and delicious sarcasm. But I prefer your intelligent grief, and your understated anguish. Stay as conflicted as you are, please! This stuff is too complicated for easy answers.

    • theozarker says:

      Hi, Nina, I guess I’ve known too many nice, ordinary people over the years to dismiss us all (although there certainly some of the other kind, too, especially, it seems, in positions of power) It’s hard to fight through the constant bombardment of propaganda and ask hard questions, sometimes, but we have to keep trying. Welcome to the blog.

  2. hecatedownunder says:

    Bless you and those tomatoes that keep the tears at bay.

  3. Nina Parker says:

    Oh, and I forgot to warn you about gardening under a walnut tree (juglone toxicity).

    • theozarker says:

      Thanks, Nina. The walnut tree is probably at least fifty years old and sits along the back (east) fence, so even though the garden is up near the house, it is in the shade of that old tree until the morning sun gets high enough to get above the tree. But nothing planted under or nearby it. But in another month or so, it sure will be dropping some mighty fine black walnuts around it. 😀

  4. eugene says:

    For me, it’s just a sickening sense of sadness. As an old vet, I have the deepest sympathy for the chronic young patriots who will march forth to do the bidding of the empire and in way too many cases will come home a shattered hulk, emotionally and/or physically, which they will live with for decades. And there is nothing to say just as there was nothing to say to me many decades ago. I share your mood.

  5. eugene says:

    Had to stop before I was done. Equally so, I think of those on the receiving end of our empire and most of all, the children who will live with consequences even longer than I. If there is a god, and it doesn’t matter who’s to me, may he or she grant them peace.

    • theozarker says:

      Yes, my heart breaks for those kids who think they’re defending the nation when they’re really being sacrificed to advance the “cause” of a dying empire. And for the young people of all the nations we cannibalize and balkanize in service to the empire’s ambitions. What a horrible waste of human resources.

  6. Nadia says:

    I feel drained and weak under the burden of “world consciousness” and the loss forever of the child innocence I had growing up with only my immediate family, friends and community on my mind….. but I’m also wiser and, in the blessing of moving to this rural farm we have because of our own fall from the perch of middle to low – I have discovered that, indeed, man is his own worst enemy because he chooses.

    That was reinforced this past week as my husband and I visited friends in South Dakota and, upon returning home choose to take the path less traveled through the Sandhills region of Nebraska. My heart was filled and lifted with a sense of wonder and gratitude at the vast beauty of this mostly prairie and grass land populated with an unbelievable array of wild flowers and streams and the amazing beauty of an area with long ribbons of highway with no traffic and few humans. We had our windows wide open and the breezes smelled sweet. Beautiful silence and respite.

    What gifts we have if we look for them and enjoy them when we can and while we can. In a world that is falling into wrong – thank goodness that there remains some things that, so far, are somewhat forgotten.

    I’m so glad that you have your garden, Linda. I’m beginning to have mine …. planting purslane and lambsquarters along with Catnip for my babies! Take care of your sad heart by the wishes of a friend.

    • theozarker says:

      Hi Nadia, hope you enjoyed your trip. There are groups here, trying to restore small parts of the Missouri prairie lands. I grew up in southeast Kansas, back in the forties and fifties, when there was still quite a bit of prairie land that hadn’t been turned into big monocrop farms. It was lovely.
      Have had a couple of big tomatoes ripen (and promptly eaten) along with quite a few cherry tomatoes. Sure better than the ones I’ve bought in the store while I waited. 🙂
      Hope you and the babies enjoy your garden.

  7. Nadia says:

    You are so right about the “mono-crop” countryside…. all along the interstates which we avoided this time.
    Babies adore their fresh catnip by rolling around in it endlessly and then taking a long nap!
    Also – those wonderful Missouri tomatoes! Growing up I remember the grainy dry store tomatoes and, wow, what I was missing. Same with fresh beets! Happy gardening!

Leave a Reply

