The Right to Be Stupid

December 20, 2014     Kim Jong-Un Sketch-cropped.jpg

Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_Jong-un

So, am I the only person in America that thinks Sony and Seth Rogan kinda, sorta deserved the bitch-slapping they got from North Korea last week? That our much vaunted (and much whined about) Freedom of Speech(TM) is not the same thing as freedom from responsibility for that speech? Or, that a movie about a CIA plot to assassinate the (justifiably) paranoid leader of North Korea just might not have the comedic value Mr. Rogan seems to see in it – especially to that leader?

And frankly, I’m not very impressed with a multibillion-dollar international conglomerate that is apparently too dumb to spend a few million bucks on encryption technology. Welcome to the 21st century, guys.

Or with the threat that North Korea supposedly issued; you know, the one that shut down all the showings of Seth’s movie and took away our right to put out any stupid thing we want and call it free speech?

But, really now, folks, are you telling me, a country that could pull off such a sophisticated hack doesn’t have a single soul that knows English well enough to write a threat that doesn’t sound like the Hollywood version of an Oriental super-villain from a grade-B spy movie? (Or, if I were a little more conspiratorially minded, like some CIA agent’s version of what a North Korean super-villain might sound like?)

It’s not that I approve of hacking other people’s stuff – whether ours or theirs – nor do I imagine that Kim Jong-un is a particularly nice guy.  It’s just that, no matter how hard I try, I can’t imagine that the little guy has hundreds of North Korean terrorists lurking outside our movie theaters, armed with explosives, ready to commit hundreds of  9/11 type atrocities on unsuspecting movie goers.  (Do you ever think about what an effective trigger that phrase is for rousing slumbering Americans to empty-minded rage?)

Well, I suppose we’re due for a whopping good international “incident” to distract us from the effects of plummeting oil prices that are whipping around the world and that will soon be coming home to roost in our own little oil patch and the banks that finance it. And it might as well be defending our God-given right to be stupid from those vicious North Korean hordes.

Merry Christmas and happy holidays, everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Right to Be Stupid

  1. Nadia says:

    It’s all just nonsense in this world and I feel that I’m on the carousel going round and round as fast as can be imagined …. and going nowhere. I now have my thoughts, much aligned with yours – which is why I seek your point-of-view every week – and I feel calm because I feel a logical voice within the nonsense. Enjoy the peace and calm of this time of year. How is the cat?

  2. eugene says:

    I agree with Nadia. I’m just tired of the senseless crap and, most of all, the senseless Americans who thrive on it.

  3. graveday says:

    Bingo. And that it flies in the face of the recently released book by the woman who taught at the ‘elite’ school. That North Korea has the tech savvy to do what they supposedly did is suspect, i hope to suppose. And if they did it with such ease to an, again supposedly, tech savvy western company, begs some quid pro quo. Oh, wait, Sony is not ‘western’. Oh, wait, they have a western, female CEO. Oh, just wait on everything.
    Bingo, I think, but what the hell do I know?
    Bingo, being, the need for diversion. Just as long as it is emphatically not water diverted for nor polluted by fracking. That much I know in my blood.
    See what I did there? North Korea can’t touch our water.

    • theozarker says:

      Hi Nadia, Eugene and Graveday. Sorry not to get back to you sooner, been a busy week. So here’s wishing you all three a happy holiday season in the midst of all this nuttiness.

  4. Schwerpunkt International says:

    We need still fear Commodore Computers running Windows 95. Apparently they can still hack into corporate systems….

Leave a Reply

