Countdown

August 24, 2013 

The NSA keeps spying, spying;
The leaders keep on lying, lying
While drones just keep on flying, flying
And people below keep dying, dying,
Leaving children to do the crying.

And rich old men are farting, farting
With glee at the wars they’re starting, starting;
And the bags of money they’re carting, carting,
As refugee families are parting.

Technology gets more cunning, cunning
While big banks finance the gunning, gunning,
So the Red Queen can keep on running

And oil men can keep on fracking, fracking,
Though the seams of the earth are cracking

And Sergeant Shultz sees nothing.

Nothing.

 

No more turning away
From the weak and the weary
No more turning away
From the coldness inside
Just a world that we all must share
It’s not enough just to stand and stare
Is it only a dream that there’ll be
No more turning away?

 

– Pink Floyd, “On the Turning Away”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Countdown

  1. graveday says:

    Well, Linda, this is a different mode, but the message stays strong and direct. God damn them, those who turn away and see nothing.

  2. theozarker says:

    Hey grave. I rarely write poetry, but all this talk about Syria seemed to plop the muse into my lap for a brief visit. I think we all turn a blind eye once in a while; there are so many things coming at us at once, but I just cannot bear the thought of one more ME country under the American bomb. I guess this is my way of letting that anger out and hoping to inspire it in others.

  3. CaityJ says:

    I really appreciate your expression here. Sad, and sadly true. Where have all the flowers gone? Thanks much!

    • theozarker says:

      Thanks, Caity. Good to hear from you again.

      • CaityJ says:

        You’re welcome, Linda (May I call you Linda? It feels strange since I don’t really know you.)
        I hope you’ll feel so moved to respond to your muse again sometime. It really hit the poignant points of today’s world with some serious humor! I love the Sergeant Schultz reference. “I know noth-ing!” Too bad so many of us are Schultzes today.

      • theozarker says:

        Sure you can call me Linda. It’s so easy to get distracted these days – after all, Milie Cyrus’ ass is so much more important than thousands more Syrians dying if we jump in there without knowing what really happened.

Leave a comment